The HAJUSOM Ensemble

The Hajusom Ensemble currently consists of:

Omid Alizadeh, Inoussa Dabré, Angelina Akosua Darko, Yaa Julia Darko, Dennis Robert Ebhodaghe, Elmira Ghafoori, Katalina Götz, Leonie Götz, Malihe Hashemi, Youssouf Madougou, Arman Marzak, Zahra Mussawi, Nebou N’Diaye, Ishika Popat, Fares Wadi.

Hajusom is a multi award-winning transnational performance group (e.g. Bundespreis of the Berliner Festspiele in 2001 and 2015, Max Brauer Prize of the Alfred Töpfer Foundation in 2014, Innovation Award of the Fonds Soziokultur in 2012) which has created numerous innovative formats with artists of different genres on topics such as globalization and transculturality, colonialism, migration and flight since 1999. Throughout Hajusom’s history, a multitude of groundbreaking and award-winning formats have been developed by a permanent team and changing guest artists. Collective working methods have always been vital to this process.

About once a year, the premiere of a new production is celebrated at the theatre Kampnagel/Hamburg, Hajusom's longstanding co-production partner, before it goes on tour. Dozens of renowned artists, such as Jimi Tenor, Ashraf Sharif Khan or the members of the Resonanz Ensemble, have performed with Hajusom on major stages in Germany and abroad. The collective is also part of a vast international network. In 2004, for example, musicians and theatre artists from all over the world travelled to the Play-Mas-Festival, which was organized by Hajusom. In 2012 the ensemble was involved in a puppet-making workshop with artists from Berlin and Bamako. In 2014, they started a cooperation with the eco-art-project Jardin Silmandé from Ouagadougou, which continues to this day and in 2019 Hajusom joined forces with the OTHNI Laboratoire de Théâtre de Yaoundé from Cameroon.